Fiction Writing

Standard


I’ve been trying to find time to write. I promised myself weeks ago that I’d make time for my writing this year. It’s February and I’ve barely written a word so far. 

It’s not that I don’t have ideas or thoughts or story lines. There are a shitload of them whirling around in my mind. I just don’t have the time to get them on paper or on the laptop. 

I am constantly babysitting; construction guys, kitten, kid, MM. Someone always needs something from me. That takes up the majority of my time. 

Or I’m at the rinks. Minor hockey, senior hockey, work…I’m at the rink at least five days a week. I should just take a pillow and sleep in the stands. 

Or I’m dealing with school obligations. Dropping off forgotten lunches, school functions, teacher conferences, or dealing with other school issues. When you have school-aged kids, you’re constantly running back and forth. 

Or I’m running to basketball practice. My son has decided to try basketball this season. And, just my luck, it overlaps hockey games. My schedule is nuts. 

Or I’m sleeping. Not that I get a lot of sleep, but I do manage about 4-6 hours each night after hockey practices, babysitting the renovation guys, taking care of the kitty, cooking, cleaning, laundry, making school lunches, basketball practice, travelling for hockey games, and trying to remain sane. 

It’s not as easy as I make it look. 

So, yeah, my writing has been pushed aside for a while. Again. I’m sure I’ll get back at it…someday. 

Talk To Me...

