Anonymity 

Standard


I’ve been on social media for many years, but it’s caused nothing but problems so that’s why I decided to become anonymous. 

My reasons for being on social media, in the beginning, were to follow celebs and keep tabs on what they were doing. This was years ago. My son was still a baby then. And I was a stay at home mom who needed something to do while the baby napped. 

Then I realized that I didn’t care about celebrities and their lives so that’s when I found Hockey Twitter. I made a lot of new friends and enjoyed games while tweeting with others. It was a form of community beyond my backyard. I still remain friends with some of these people today. 

But something has happened in the course of a few years that has turned me off of social media. 

I got in a Facebook fight with a family member because she didn’t like the way I used my social media to update and share my thoughts. Uuuuuuh, ok? Apparently she didn’t understand the use of an unfollow/unfriend button. So I taught her how to use the block button. 

Then I used social media for work in sports and I came across some of the worst kind of trolls. I dealt with a lot of assholes who didn’t believe women should work in sports. I was threatened for blocking people who were aggressive with my staff. My private messages were full of nasty hate and rumours were spread that my staff was incompetent because they had different views from the norm. People can be such assholes sometimes. Fuck them, I quit. 

Now, I use social media for no purpose other than to fill time when I’m waiting at the dentists office, or when I’m waiting to start work, or when I’m waiting for the laundry to dry. 

Needless to say, I’ve seen my fair share of social media jerks and I’m no longer afraid to call them out on their behaviour. If you want to fuck with me, I’m not obligated to shut up any longer. And I won’t. I’ll call out the biggest asshole if I feel they’re taking it too far. My block button is my best friend and I’m not afraid to use it. 

People take things so personally on social media and it’s awful how none of these social media sites help to protect people. Enter ME. I will stick up for the little guy and call out the name-calling, keyboard cowboys who pick on others by taking personal jabs at random people because they have different points of view. I call out stupidity and I express myself however I see fit because I’m tired of assholes taking over social media. 

My rules are simple; don’t be an online asshole. If you don’t like me, unfollow me. If I don’t like you, I’ll block you because I can. This isn’t rocket science. 

Life shouldn’t be a maze of trolls, assholes, and keyboard cowboys. Some people aren’t as mentally tough as others. So I’m here to call out the bullshit and be the voice that some people don’t have. Because bullies and online jerks need to be called out. They don’t deserve the voice they think they have. They need to learn when to shut the hell up. And I’ll be the one to help teach them. 

K.I.S.S. (Keep It Simple Stupid)

-GIGB 

2 thoughts on “Anonymity 

Talk To Me...

