SUNSHINE!

Standard

I’m Canadian. We get a lot of snow. It’s winter for about 6 months each year so we learn to appreciate the nice sunny days when they happen.

Because of the October snowfall this year, sunny days have disappeared early. And I may or may not have seasonal affective disorder. That’s up in the air but I’m trying to figure it out.

So, this morning, as I turned on my television, started my treadmill, and began my early morning get-off-your-ass-and-get-moving routine, I was happily shocked to find sunshine pouring in through a window down the hallway. I immediately stopped the treadmill, turned off the tv, and grabbed my water bottle before running towards my front door yelling maniacally, “SUNSHINE!” in anticipation of a jog outside instead of on the treadmill.

I was about two blocks from home when I realized I could see my breath. Here’s the thing about Canadian weather – it’s cruelly deceptive. The sun may be out, but if the temperature is low or the wind picks up, it may as well be -35c. Regardless of how bright the sun is, it can still be fucking cold.

With snot threatening to drip from my nose and the cold wind sucking the air out of my lungs, I stopped in my tracks, turned around, and made the long, defeated journey back to my house.

I turned on the tv, angrily started the treadmill, and muttered, “fucking sunshine.”

Talk To Me...

