Reality Is A Bitch Sometimes

Standard

Some days, I have nothing good to say. Today is another one of those days. I’ve had many lately. To say I’m struggling would be an understatement.

It’s less than two weeks until the kids go back to school and I can’t wait. My son and I are buddies and we love hangin’ out together, but it’s getting to that point when we need a break from each other. Something that people don’t seem to realize about me is that I’m always with my son unless he’s at school. If I’m working, he’s with me. If I’m renovating the house, he’s with me. If I’m shopping, cleaning, reading, gardening, travelling, etc…he’s always with me. When he’s at school, I get a few hours to myself to get things done and take a break from being a parent for a while. This is the point in summer when I realize that teachers are severely underpaid. 

Family. Mom, dad, uncles, aunts, cousins, grandparents – they all stress me out. ‘Nuff said. 

I’m still waiting on the insurance guy to confirm my renovations. I have everything picked out, my hardware store guy, Pete, is jittery because he knows he’s about to make some serious money from my renovations, and yet, here I sit, still staring at a bathroom that’s been ripped down to the studs. It’s been weeks. I’ll be lucky to have this bathroom done by Christmas. And then I have two more rooms to do after this one is finished. Fun fucking times. 

Here’s my deal lately: I’m not in a positive frame of mind. Everything is aggravating me beyond hell. And I’ve come to realize that some of us weren’t meant to shit rainbows all the time. Some of us are meant to be realists. I am a realist. 

I’d love to be that mom that never loses her shit over small things, but (rarely) I do. I wish that my family would stop calling me and harassing me into doing things I don’t want to do, but that will never happen. And I’d be very fucking happy if I had the control/finances/time to just get these renos done, like, tomorrow, but because someone isn’t doing their job properly that isn’t happening. 

Reality can be a real bitch sometimes. 

Talk To Me...

