Wise Words From An 8 Year Old

Standard


Sometimes I try to teach my son life lessons, but I wonder if he even hears me. His eyes glaze over and he seems a million miles away. Then the circle of life happens and I realize that I am a good parent, doing the best that I can every day, and my child will never cease to amaze me. 

Every evening, as I put my son to bed, I always lay down with him for a few minutes so we can talk about our day. 

Last night, I laid beside my son and he could feel what was in my heart when he said, “I’m sorry, mom.” 

I gave him a quizzical look. “What are you sorry for?”

“I know you’ve had a bad day.” 

“How do you know that?”

“You haven’t smiled as much today. You’re always happy, but today you didn’t seem as happy.” He paused for a moment in thought. “Why did you have a bad day?”

“It wasn’t necessarily a bad day. I just had a bad moment. But I’m very glad you were here to make me smile.” 

“Why did you have a bad moment?”

“Someone hurt my feelings and it made me sad.”

“I’m sorry someone hurt your feelings, mom. That’s not very nice.” After another long pause, in which I knew he was considering what to say next, he replied,  “if they make you sad, you shouldn’t talk to them anymore.” 

I smiled with tears in my eyes. 

“That’s what you always tell me to do. And I think it’s your turn to walk away from negative people who make you sad and hurt your feelings. You should be with people who make you happy.” 

I tried to contain my tears as I kissed his forehead and said, “you make me happy.” 

He hugged me tightly before I left his room and I started to weep. 

Thank you, son, for those wise words. 

2 thoughts on “Wise Words From An 8 Year Old

Talk To Me...

