Know When To Hold Em, Know When To Fold Em

Standard

When I was younger, I took almost any job I could get in order to pay my bills. I wasn’t picky because my parents taught me that sometimes we have to do what we have to do in order to get what we want. Once I finished university, I had my sights set on my dream job and tried my hardest to break into the workforce in my field of study. It didn’t happen for me and I ended up going elsewhere to look for work.

That’s when I broke into the music industry. No, I wasn’t some famous singer. I worked behind the scenes, in a job that required promotion and development. I can honestly say that I loved that job. It brought out the best of me. But, after over a decade, I needed a change and decided to get into sports instead. I was offered a position and I took it. I have been working in sports for about five years now.

Music and sports are a lot alike. They’re both a form of entertainment. And when you start dealing with other peoples entertainment, they like things their way. It’s like they think that everyone should do what they want them to do. And, for the most part, celebs usually try to give the masses what they want. I don’t think the general public understands just how much entertainment is swayed by their opinions. I’ll leave it at that because I digress.

My job is of the executive level. Which means that I’m in charge of people who work under me. In other words, it’s glorified babysitting. My job is to make sure that people are doing their jobs properly. If they don’t do their jobs, then I’m not doing mine. It isn’t even about the sports anymore – it’s about micro-managing. And I think I’m done with it. I’m tired of chasing people around and trying to force them to do things they, as grown adults, should be doing on their own. When someone doesn’t do their job, it’s on me. When there’s a problem, it’s on me. Paradoxically, if something goes right, it’s all about the team effort. Funny how I can fall to the wayside so easily when things are looking good.

I miss being able to watch sports and get excited as a fan. I want to sit in a bar with friends, eat pizza, drink beer, and cheer loudly for no other reason than to support my favourite teams. But that’s something that’s hard to do when you work on the inside of sports.

It was the same way with my time in music. It wasn’t about the music anymore. Which is why I quit the music industry. Since then, I’ve learned the power and effect of music to my ears again. I have a new appreciation for music because of my time working behind the scenes, and I think it helped me to grow as an avid music connoisseur. I finally love music again.

So, with that in mind, I’ve decided to quit my job in sports. I love sports and I want to appreciate it for what it is instead of feeling obligated to be part of it. I need to find my happiness again and I believe that working in a different field of work will help. The thing I’m looking forward to the most is being able to hang out at the baseball fields and hockey rinks without any obligation to be there.

Pass me a hot dog and beer!

Talk To Me...

