I’m A Hippie At Heart

Standard

I have an executive job. I have a staff that works under me. And I’m very good at my job. I work hard and I’ve earned everything I own. No one has helped me along the way – I’ve done it all myself. 

As well, I’m raising part of the next generation and hoping he is learning to respect himself and others through my example. I try to instill good values, principles, and morals so he is a positive, productivpart of the world. I don’t allow others to raise my child and I give him the freedom to make age-appropriate decisions. He has his responsibilities and I have mine. We work together as a team to live out our journey together. I rarely go anywhere without my son. I believe he is here to help celebrate my life, not be excluded from it. Because of all this, I believe I am a good mother. 

I’m also getting older and I’ve learned a lot of lessons in life. In my adventure, I’ve learned so many lessons – some the hard way. Stress does awful things to a body and I try to avoid it as much as possible. Being nice to people does good things for your soul. Common sense is an asset. And taking time for yourself once in a while is a good thing – do something you have a passion for. There are so many life lessons that I’ve learned – these are only a few. (I’ll save more for another blog entry.) 

Above all, I’ve learned that living simply is the best way to appreciate life, internally and externally. Maybe it’s because of all my travels, I’ve learned that we live in excess. There are people who have so much less than what we have. Consumerism is at an all-time high. It’s sad to see the waste that people create. I think there’s an easy solution to this problem. Getting back to basics is so important. Because of this, I’m a true hippie at heart. 

Instead of throwing everything out, I fix things. I have 20 years of experience in electronics and I prefer to fix the electronics that get broken rather than pay $400 for a new tablet, $600 for a new iPhone, or $300 for a new gaming console. I have an old Sony Walkman (google it if you don’t know what it is) that was my best friend throughout my youth. I can’t bare to get rid of it. Music makes up the soundtrack of my life and I always have music playing in some part of my house or through my headphones if I’m outside the house. Yes, I still use my old Walkman when I’m gardening or cleaning up around the house. I just can’t let go. This old relic will probably be buried with me when I die. 

If clothes get ripped, I sew them instead of throwing them away and buying more. Unless my kid grows out of his clothes, he wears them. Once he grows out of them, we donate them – with the odd exception (like underwear and socks), we never throw them away. I have clothes in my closet from 15 years ago that still fit me and I can’t bare to part with them. I rarely buy new clothes. Instead, I cut them up and repurpose them. It’s amazing what you can use old t-shirts for. 

Recently, I’ve realized that I can grow my own garden indoors. Because I live in Canada, I didn’t know it was possible. But now that I know how to do it, I feel like I’ve opened up a new world for myself and my son. Indoor gardening is actually fun. My kid and I spent the entire weekend planting lettuce, carrots, green onions, celery, and herbs – all the things we love to eat. I also bake my own bread, muffins, cupcakes, banana bread, and other desserts. No more overpriced grocery bills! 

Ours is a world of waste and I try not to be part of it as much as possible. In the process, I’m trying to teach my son the value of a dollar. My only hope is that he continues these family values as he gets older. 

Talk To Me...

