Attitude, You’ve Been Warned

Standard

I’m not an awful person. I’m actually quite nice. That is until someone decides to be rude to me or the ones I love. Then I feel the need to stand up for what I believe in.

For example, the “friend” who had asked me “what kind of mother doesn’t go to their kids baseball games?” has now been put in his place and called out on his rudeness.

I haven’t talked to him in a few weeks because I’ve been busy and I’ve been avoiding him because I didn’t feel comfortable dealing with his attitude. So when we were thrown together this weekend, it was on.

It started out well enough, until he made a crack about my absence during one of my sons last games. I’ll be honest, I wasn’t angry or upset. I was more disappointed that this guy wouldn’t give up. Because I was surrounded by children, and because I just didn’t have the energy in me to fight against the ignorance, I looked at this guy and said, “for once, just lay off and give me a break because you don’t know what I’m going through.”

When I threw my bag over my shoulder and began to walk away, he said, “hey, listen, it’s just a joke.” To which I replied, “it’s not funny. It’s rude and you sound like a jerk. And I don’t have time for your attitude.”

When I explained to him that his comments were insulting to me as a parent, he looked down at his shoes and apologized again.

He continued on, talking about other random things, but he just wouldn’t give up. He made another snide comment, to which I replied, “I’m done with you, completely, because I just don’t have time for jerks like you.”

When I walked away, I could hear him apologizing to my back. I could only shake my head and continue to walk away. And I haven’t talked to him since then. With friends like this, who needs enemies??

Talk To Me...

